Don’t Worry, Be Happy

I have a problem. I’m a overthinker who worries over just about everything. I was thinking and worrying about this problem a few days ago and just had to find out what it was. Why do I over think things and worry about things I can’t control I wondered. Why, on occasion, do I just stall out? And then worry about why I stalled. Google told me I have what’s called Analysis Paralysis.

AP. I got it bad. And there’s no cure except to get my  head out of you know where and stop worrying about it. It’s a vicious circle.

I even called Mom and told her she had this problem too. See how I worry about her? I worry she doesn’t get out enough and that she’ll shrivel up and die all alone amongst her knitting needless, yarn and patterns and her random salt and pepper holder collection with her dog Dottie by her side. Sorry Mom.

But after I gave her the description, which I took from the place Google led me to, she agreed. Turns out she has AP just like me.

The way, I figure, we have a responsibility to tell other people what’s wrong with them too. As if by joining our sad little group, the whole situation will just go away.

But what is AP really? Wiki tells us in pretty simple terms:

“The term “analysis paralysis” or “paralysis of analysis” refers to over-analyzing (or over-thinking) a situation, or citing sources, so that a decision or action is never taken, in effect paralyzing the outcome. A decision can be treated as over-complicated, with too many detailed options, so that a choice is never made, rather than try something and change if a major problem arises. A person might be seeking the optimal or “perfect” solution upfront, and fear making any decision which could lead to erroneous results, when on the way to a better solution.”

I’ve realized this happens to me more often than I’d like to admit; mostly when it comes to writing. In fact, before I started writing this post I nearly did a search on what I should write about. Come on! Really?

Do the rest of you deal with this? If so, what’s your solution?

On a totally separate note, I thought I’d share with you something that I didn’t worry about all weekend! For the second year, I was able to go to the Knitting Pipeline Retreat in Washington, IL. My mom invited me last year and this year was just as much fun. Women, wine and yarn = fantastic worry free fun!

Okay, I sound a little too goodie two shoes but it really is a good time. I’m so grateful to my mom for showing me how to knit and including me in the friendships she has developed. Beyond the ability to create something beautiful, I’ve had a chance to enjoy time with her and learn from her. I enjoy watching her when she’s with her friends and to see her happy. I see a lot of myself in her as I get older and I’m pleased about that. If I am half as smart as she is, I’m a lucky woman.

Well, I guess that’s about it for my sentimental side tonight. Time to hit the sheets and worry (or not) about what tomorrow will bring.

By the way, if you wanted to know a bit more about how AP syndrome works, check out this blog post on Selfgrowth.com.

Leave a Reply

