Where Have We Been?

I have been stuck in a rut for a while until recently. Mid January we received a serious medical diagnosis for Eric that has caused us to rethink our priorities. A wake up call if you will. We were living our lives but not REALLY living them. I imagine this internal reevaluation happens to many people when they go through something drastically outside the norm.

We’ve been awakened; each in our own way. We have had to reach back to a time when we both believed in God because to tell you the truth we forgot about Him. We forgot about the power of believing in something good. We forgot about the importance of maintaining faith. We just got caught up in the day to day (like everyone does) and we simply forgot.

This is not about religion or choosing a team to “play” on. It’s about finding peace and strength through faith in something greater than ourselves. Today, both of us are in a better place. We are reevaluating our goals, the way we treat our bodies, the way want to raise our children, the way we treat people. We are making positive changes rooted in the foundations that our parents introduced to us when we were small. (Eric was raised in the Seventh Day Adventist faith and I was loosely raised in the Lutheran Church. Our families each practice their faith to varying degrees.)

I’m just grateful that the concept of believing in a higher power, God, was introduced to me early on. Being able to lean back and take comfort in the idea that someone is there to catch us and carry us when we are down is the most powerful way to heal the soul. I want this for my children. I want this for my family as we move through life.

This being said, I see The Ornery Uterus morphing into more than just a place to discuss our infertility journey. We are made up of a billion moving parts, some exciting, some not so much. The infertility piece, just like Eric’s medical piece, is just a blip on the screen. I will use this space to talk about our daily lives and the things exciting things we’ll be exploring down the road.

For the few people who read my blog, thank you! I know you know how much Eric and I want to start a family. Despite the turmoil we have faced over the last month and half, we are even more confident we will be able to achieve this dream!

I’m going to leave you with a few photos. Yesterday, we were out walking the dog and ran across some debris in the street. I went back to take a few photos and decided to snap some shots of whatever color I could find. The weather has been crazy this month with snow storms, etc. Color reminds me that Spring is on its way!

 

This lone leaf looked so sad floating in the winter water.

This lone leaf looked so sad floating in the winter water.

Another balloon on the sidewalk. A blue flower perhaps?

I thought this was debris from a construction site but then realized it was a balloon. It looks like a spring flower to me.

I thought this was debris from a construction site but then realized it was a balloon. It looks like a spring flower to me.

Bright red in a sea of white.

Bright red in a sea of white.

3 thoughts on “Where Have We Been?

Leave a Reply

