Vitamin D Deficiency? Nah!

In the last month I have had several blood tests to determine the cause of my extremely low alkaline phosphasate levels. The most recent tests done about two weeks ago. Unfortunately, my GP left the practice during this process and thus my blood work has taken a backseat. Her peers are scampering to deal with her patient list and I’m last in line. Still though, it would have been nice to get a phone call to let me know my results were in. That I wasn’t dying of malnutrition or other strange ailment. No. Instead, more than a week after my tests were done, I had to call the practice and ask for the results.

A nurse checked my chart and assured me that all the blood tests were within normal range and that the doctor (the new one) would like to check in with me in three months time. I made a critical mistake in my relief. I didn’t question the nurse further about the results. I should have asked for the doctor. I should have held the doctor accountable for getting back to me with tests that I had been waiting on.

I know they are busy. I get it. But the doctor should still have the courtesy of calling a patient. What’s more, the results posted on the practice’s patient portal, were normal save one critical test.

I have a severe vitamin D deficiency with a current blood level of 15 ng/mL.

Livestrong.com says this, “A normal range of vitamin D in your blood from the 25-hydroxyvitamin D test is  between 30 and 74 ng/mL, or nanograms per milliliter. If you have a lower amount  of vitamin D in your blood, you may not be getting enough vitamin D in your  diet, or you may lack enough sun exposure on your skin. Other possibilities  include a kidney or liver disease; a problem with your body’s ability to absorb  vitamin D; or your use of medications that lower your level of vitamin D.”

The nurse made no mention of my vitamin D levels. Again, I should have asked to talk to the doctor. I urge all of us to keep on top of our doctors so that you are “in the know” at all times. A vitamin D deficiency can cause all sorts of issues including increased risk for bone fractures and osteoporosis.

A 2004 article in the Washington Post brought to light other issues saying, “But beyond bone and muscle problems, some evidence suggests a dearth of vitamin
D may be associated with an array of more serious illnesses, including many
forms of cancer, high blood pressure, depression, and immune-system disorders
such as multiple sclerosis, rheumatoid arthritis and diabetes.”

And, from what I’ve read, infertility. In fact, Dr. Joseph Mercola, a well-known alternative health physician out of Hoffman Estates, IL, posted an article in february of this year addressing this very issue. He talks about the importance of vitamin D, not just for women’s fertility but for men’s as well. Check out the article here: The Vitamin That Has Been Show To Dramatically Improve Fertility. I have also seen articles which say it doesn’t have a significant impact on pregnancy or fertility. Either way, it is worth the research.

I plan to call the doctor tomorrow to find out what she recommends. In the meantime I have stocked up on Calcium with Vitamin D3 (it is said that D3 is what we should be taking – NOT D2.) I checked the label on my prenatal vitamin and interestingly it does not include D3, only D2. Also, fish oil – particularly Cod Liver oil is supposed to be the best source for Vitamin D3. These come in capsule format so check around.

Does anyone else have stories about a vitamin D deficiency or other such issue? Would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

