Gluten Free for Infertility

I’ve not thought much about our infertility. Eric and I have been enjoying the cooler temps, whipping around on the motorcycles and generally enjoying life. Every once in a while I think about our childless life and wonder if our status will change.

Few things trigger me. A movie perhaps. Or a pregnant woman in a grocery store, hand on her belly as she shops for deli meat and cheese. Recently, I attended an anniversary celebration for a local knit shop. Mom pointed out a pregnant staff member. I asked the young woman if could touch her belly and she said no; she doesn’t let people touch. I felt sad for the briefest moment. She must have her own reasons. If I was pregnant I’d let people touch me. Maybe.

Eric and I have talked about what we want to do now that the summer is over. Fall and winter will settle in and we’ll be holed up, waiting for spring to come around once again. I prefer this time of year. Insides of houses transform; Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas. Candles with scents like Cinnamon and Harvest Home and Apple Spice are lit, slow cooker recipes are thrown together and time slows. This is the time of year I like to reflect. What have I accomplished? What are my goals? What are OUR goals? I imagine Eric does this in his own way.

We’ve decided that we are going to do a round of IVF in January. It’s a scary prospect. A $10,000 to $14,000 scary prospect. I have no idea who we will go with but I have had a recommendation or two. It is daunting to think that even though the money will be spent, there are no guarantees of success. I must stop this negative thinking!

In the meantime, I’ve decided to try a gluten-free diet. Wikipedia says, “Gluten (from Latin gluten, “glue“) is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye. It gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and to keep its shape, and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten may also be found in some cosmetics or dermatological preparations”.

Some sources say that gluten can play a role in infertility and miscarriage. I recently ran across a few articles and blogs that support the idea of gluten causing hormone imbalances. Could this be the explaination behind the unexplained? I’m willing to try anything at this point. Here are a few sources to take a look at:

The Gluten Doctors

Fertility and Pregnancy In Women With Celiac Disease – By Michelle Melin-Rogovin

Celiac Central – pregnancy and Celiac Disease

I don’t propose to have Celiac disease. In fact, I don’t have the symptoms of celiac. However, if gluten DOES have something to do with infertility, then I’m willing to give this diet thing a chance. Eric is going along with it too. For now anyway. When I told him I’d like to try gluten-free he gave a me a look. When I told him I wanted to clean out the pantry of all gluten-free items he put his foot down.

“I’m NOT doing this gluten-free thing forever ya know. Don’t throw away my flour I use to make pizza dough.” Ok. Easy does it.

We’ve been GF for about a week now and I have to say I don’t really mind it. I’m not missing bread as much as I thought. Not sure about Eric, I think he has his moments. He has been eating what I put in front of him. A good sign I’d say! We’ve been able to eat rice, corn tortillas, corn chips, etc. I even made GF pancakes yesterday for breakfast which were quite good. Here’s a few things I picked up at Whole Foods last week:

I have had steel-cut oats before and they are tasty. Especially with a little milk, honey and dried fruit or almonds.

We didn’t have any soy milk so we’ve not tried these yet. Eric had a handful of dry ones and deemed them worthy.

Gluten-free pastas and breads are very expensive. I think this little bag cost about $4. Not what I would normally pay for whole wheat pasta. The texture will be something to get used to. They are not as spongy and chewy as regular pasta. I have a recipe for stove top mac and cheese and I want to try it with these.

These are actually very tasty. They have a little bit of a bite to them but would go great as nachos or with a favorite salsa. Most salsa by the way is gluten-free. You can google almost anything and found out a yes or no to most products.

We made these yesterday and they were delicious! Not as good as the whole wheat pancakes I make but still pretty good. We had soy butter and basic syrup. I would usually put a pure maple syrup on or maybe some honey. I also added cinnamon to the batter. They were super easy to make up.

This is the Gluten Free symbol to look for when you are purchasing prepared foods. I’ve read that you should keep all GF products separate from gluten products especially if you are or might be Celiac or have a gluten sensitivity. Apparently gluten can even stick to door handles (think fridge doors) and the like. Crumbs in the peanut butter, etc. You get the idea.

Lundberg’s makes a GF line of rice cakes as well that are pretty good. I bought the apple cinnamon last week. In the morning I top it with peanut butter and honey. Yum! I will be posting some GF recipes here as well. If you have any thoughts or ideas for my blog please let me know!

Leave a Reply

