Recipe #6 – Spaghetti Squash Casserole

I agree. This probably doesn’t sound like the most appetizing dish BUT I implore you to give it a chance. I found it while noodling around on the computer on Monday and thought I would try it since I had a squash all cooked up and ready to go.

The key to this concoction is the seasoning. After cutting the squash in two, I sprinkle each side with Emril’s Essence seasoning mix, place them face down in a shallow pan and add some water to the bottom of the pan. I bake it at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. On Sunday when I made the squash I didn’t know what to do with it so I stored it in the fridge. Fortunately the internet Gods set me up with what I think may just be my favorite all time comfort food dish.

I’ve made this recipe twice now in the past four days. This should give some indication about it’s power to woo the taste buds. The first time I made it I used a savory chicken sausage (The recipe originally calls for regular sausage.) and the second time I used crab meat. For general purposes I will give you the sausage recipe. I would love to know what you think!

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

1 medium size spaghetti squash (Split in half and seeded.)
1 c. water
2 T. olive oil
2 fresh sausages (I used chicken, feta and spinach sausages.)
1/2 c. of fresh chives (finely chopped)
5 to 6 eggs
2 T. half and half
1/2 c. shredded cheese (Use the cheese you like best.)
salt and pepper to taste

Set the oven to 350 degrees. Cut the spaghetti squash in half, seed the squash and season each side with Emril’s Essence. Put the sides of the squash face down in a pan. Add about a cup of water to the pan. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes or until you can pierce the backs of the squash with a fork fairly easily. Store the spaghetti squash in an air tight container in the refrigerator if you wish to wait a day before using it.

In the meantime remove the sausage from the casing and brown over medium to high heat with a little olive oil. Once browned add the chives and spaghetti squash. Mix until everything is heated through. Beat eggs together with half and half, salt and pepper.

Place the squash mixture into a greased casserole dish. Pour the eggs over the top of the squash evenly. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes. The last five minutes sprinkle cheese over the top and bake until bubbly.

One note to keep in mind. The original recipe called for fresh sage which I didn’t have on hand. I just eliminated it and it didn’t seem to take away from the recipe. I thought for my second go-round with the dish I would toss caution to the wind and make it with crab. I used the imitation crab for this recipe and it was just as fabulous. Of course real crab would taste much better!

What will your twist be? Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Recipe #6 – Spaghetti Squash Casserole

    • Thanks Tricia! This one was truly fabulous. I didn’t like the crab version as much as the sausage. So good that I’m going to make for the potluck at work!

Leave a Reply

