Recipe #5 – Wine with a Light Whine Sauce

Yes. I am going there. I normally don’t bitch and moan but I really have to do it today. There are just days when I come home from work and all I want to do is veg out. Then there are days when I come home with a mission to clean, scour, reorganize so that I have some sense of order in my life. My one wish? That Eric would come home that way too – at least more often than he does.

We are not neat freaks by any means. Come to our house unannounced and you will find dishes in the sink, clothes laying on the floor, shoes laying haphazardly in the living room and, if they had feelings, probably wondering why they were abandoned after providing solid protection and comfort to the feet all day.

The bitch part of this whole thing is the fact that I am the one who always does these things. As women I think we take on the burden of “caring” for everything in our lives. The pets need to be fed, the husband needs to be nudged from sleep, the laundry has to get done somehow, the food needs to be purchased from the store. The list goes on. There may be some of you that say I deserve this. But we have all been there; have we not?

Most of the time I don’t mind doing these things. It really does become second nature. My irritation builds when I get asked things like, “Did you wash any jeans?” or “What did you do with my blah, blah, blah?” Well, I say silently, I should have thrown your blah, blah, blah in the garbage because you didn’t pick it up, but. . .

So tonight, as I was cleaning the dishes, changing the cat litter, throwing in a load of laundry, changing the sheets, sweeping the floor and dusting the shelves I was asked, “Hey what’s for dinner?”

My reply? “I don’t know what you’re having but this is what I am having.” And suddenly a glass of red wine magically appeared!

Ladies, this recipe is guaranteed delicious. Plus, it is perfect any night of the week, especially nights when your hands get antsy to pull your own hair out or wring your husband’s/partner’s neck.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Recipe #5 – Wine with a Light Whine Sauce

Leave a Reply

