Recipe #3 – Slow Cooker Mushroom Beef Stew

I’m not a beef eater. (Or liver or lamb or pork for that matter. I also don’t drink milk.) I stick mostly to chicken, turkey and seafood. I’ve been eating this way for almost 13 years and when people ask me why, I  tell them I did it for health reasons. Back when I was young and impressionable I attended a health seminar that touted the evils of beef and pork. The conference speakers really pushed a vegetarian lifestyle but I wasn’t that convinced. But they did catch my attention about meat and how it’s processed, etc. I suppose that can be true of any food these days.

I could go on and on about the food industry but this blog post is about Beef Stew. Specifically the Slow Cooker Beef Stew that I was more than happy to make for Eric. After all, he doesn’t get a treat like this very often. Unfortunately for him, unless he puts up a fight, it is chicken most nights.

At work, my co-workers and I talk about food as much as we do about business. We love to eat, what can I say. This dish came to me via a recipe that my next door office mate made for her family. She doubled it to feed five and said it worked perfectly. I followed the recipe to the letter and only added a pinch more salt. Eric said he thought something was missing. Since I didn’t try it, I can’t say what that “something” could be. There are a ton of Beef Stew recipes out there. You can always use this one as a base and test different flavors out. Good luck and enjoy!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew
(Recipe from disneyfamily.com)

1 1/2 to 2 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1 inch cubes
2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 1/2 c. beef broth
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 clove garlic, minced
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon paprika
4 shiitake mushrooms, sliced (I couldn’t find shiitake and used baby Bellas – they worked great!)
2 medium carrots, sliced thick
2 medium potatoes, diced
1 small white onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, sliced

Mix together beef, flour, salt and pepper. Stir to coat meat. Add to crock pot with remaining ingredients.

Cover, cook on LOW for 10 to 12 hours or HIGH for 4 to 6 hours. (Note: I think this depends on the slow cooker. I turned my on high and it needed to cook for 8 hours.)

Leave a Reply

