Keeping Things Interesting

I’m really bummed. I found out today from my Doctor that my progesterone levels are not as high as they should be. After eight months of taking Prometrium (a synthetic progesterone). Really? Come on!

It’s just one more setback. One more hurdle to have to cross. A $213 hurdle no less. The doc prescribed Crinone 8%, a vaginal progesterone which is supposed to help make the lining of the uterus more lush. Please can I just have a lush uterus? That isn’t such a unmanagable request of someone or some being that supposedly made the world in 7 days. Maybe I need to come up with a prayer for this.

OK. I know I sound a little pessimistic. But those of you going through this or have a loved one going through it you know how frustrating it can be. It’s just the little things.

This wasn’t what this post was intended for. Infertility, while it plagues me, doesn’t define my life. It is a situation my husband and I are dealing with much to our dismay; but our lives have not stopped because of it. That being said I’d like to set forth some guidelines on how this blog will grow. I want to talk about infertility at times and I also want to share other things with you. Fun things like recipes and stories about my Caribou Coffee fixations and interactions with my three feline pets.

I’m an Aunt four times over making me an expert in Aunt type things. I have ideas about event planning (I love a good party) and wine. I love wine. Which means I can tell you all about my Wine Club and the women I sip with every month. I have written some poetry and there is plenty more where that came from. I belong to a Book Club and a Writing Club too. Yes, I know, you may be wondering how I have time to even think about making a baby but trust me, we make time.

I don’t want to be too rigid about this thing but I also want to have some consistency. So here’s what I’m thinking. Every Saturday will be Shop Talk day. This is where we can talk about things specific to infertility. On Wednesdays you can expect a recipe – my first to be a chickpea salad that is divine! I first had it at a friend’s house last weekend and I was compelled to recreate it. Yes. I said chickpeas. It has some lemon and tomato and cucumber and other yummy goodness but you’ll have to wait until next Wednesday to ready about it. 😉

The rest of the week will be up for grabs. I may feature a cool product or talk about an interesting fundraising event or alert you about a unique volunteer opportunity. I might even have a guest blogger! How fun.

I do have to warn you that this Saturday’s post won’t arrive until Sunday afternoon or evening. I’m headed off for a camping trip with three of those lovely nephews I mentioned. The forecast says rain but I’m guessing it won’t dampen anyone’s weekend.

Baby dust all around! Until next time. . .

Leave a Reply

